About Obesity

Today, one in five Egyptian people are obese – almost four times as many as 25 years ago. Obesity rates are increasing in our children too, leading to obesity being described as the epidemic of the 21st Century.

Diet and exercise are the best ways to lose weight but very few obese people manage to achieve sustained weight loss. Life-style changes involving increased activity and a healthier balanced diet may help keep weight off.

Drug treatment is available for selected people, via their Dietitian, and has some success, but is not used long-term and can have side effects. Weight loss surgery – also known as obesity surgery or bariatric surgery – is the only proven long term solution to morbid obesity.

The Body Mass Index (BMI) is one way to determine whether a person is overweight. People are considered obese if they have a body mass index above 30. Those most at risk of developing obesity-related illnesses are termed morbidly obese and have a BMI of 40 or above (or 35 and above if they already have an obesity-related illness).

Slimplus Clinic offers:

Treatment at established well-known hospitals in Cairo Extensive follow up providing support, advice and medical care without time limit Three types of procedures: gastric banding, gastric bypass, and sleeve gastrostomy A surgical revision service for patients suffering complications of surgery from elsewhere

نبذة عن السمنة

 

واحدة من كل خمسة مصريين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة – ما يقرب من أربعة أمثال النسبة قبل 25 عاما. معدلات البدانة في تزايد في أطفالنا أيضا, مما يضع البدانة من احد اكثر الأمراض انتشارا في القرن الواحد و العشرون.

النغذية العلاجية و ممارسة الرياضة هي احسن الطرق لفقدان الوزن لبعض الأشخاص حسب معدل السمنة و مؤشر كتلة الجسم.

يمكن علاج السمنة بالعقاقير و الادوية التي تساعد على فقدان الوزن لبعض الأشخاص بمتابعة دكتور التغذية العلاجية و لكها غير فعالة على المدى الطويل كما يمكن ان يكون لها بعض الآثار الجانبية.

جراحات السمنة هي الطريقة الآمنة و الفعالة لعلاج السمنة المفرطة. وهي تعتبر الحل الأمثل الذي يدوم تأثيره طويلا حتى الآن

مؤشر كتلة الجسم هى الطريقة الوحيدة لتحديد ما إذا كان الشخص يعاني من زيادة الوزن. الذين يعانون من السمنة المفرطة يكون مؤشر كتلة الجسم لديهم اكبر من او يساوي 40 (او 35 اذا كان معها امراض مصاحبة) و تلك النسبة هى الأكثر عرضة للخطر من الأمراض المرتبطة بالسمنة المفرطة.

مركز Slimplus يقدم:

- العلاج و اجراء العمليات في مستشفيات كبيرة و معروفة بالقاهرة – المتابعة وتقديم الدعم والمشورة والرعاية الطبية دون حد زمني – نقدم ثلاثة انواع من جراحات السمنة: حزام العدة، تحويل مسار المعدة، و تكميم المعدة – خدمة متابعة و علاج المرضى الذين يعانون من مضاعفات الجراحة التي تم اجرائها في اماكن اخرى